Our Expert Work Group provides technical assistance on the development and implementation of relevant rural health disparities, services and policy research. Their mix of disciplines and expertise are highly regarded and are essential to the administration and growth of a scientific research center. The members are: William A. Robinson, MD, MPH, (Chair); Dr. Graham Adams, Ph.D.; Keith Mueller, PhD.
William A. Robinson, MD, MPH, (Chair)

Dr. Robinson is a career public health physician, the former Director of the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities for the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). He was a major participant in developing the 1985 Report of the Secretary’s Task Force on Black and Minority Health, the first formal Federal effort to document and address health disparities. Dr. Robinson is widely respected for his professional and personal contributions to public health and the well-being of racial and ethnic minorities and other underserved populations.

Graham Adams, Ph.D.

Dr. Graham Adams serves as the Chief Executive Officer and provides overall supervision and direction for the South Carolina Office of Rural Health. He has been with the SC Office of Rural Health since 1995 and has served in a variety of capacities. As the Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Adams is responsible for developing and executing long and short-range goals to fulfill the mission and vision of the organization. In this role, he provides technical assistance to individuals and organizations regarding strategic planning, grant development, funding opportunities, infrastructure development and resource allocation. Dr. Adams consistently strives to work collaboratively with clinicians, administrators, educations, legislators, community and civic leaders and state and federal agencies to improve access to quality health care in rural communities.

Maggie Blackburn, MD. , FAAFP

Dr. Blackburn is Director of Rural Health in the Department of Family Medicine and Rural Health at Florida State University College of Medicine.   As Director, Dr. Blackburn provides oversight of ongoing rural activities for clerkships, develops programs of interdisciplinary and interdepartmental activities in education service in research to promote the rural mission of the College of Medicine, coordinates with the SSTRIDE program to strengthen pipeline programs to promote the admission of rural students to the College of Medicine, creates outcome measures for programs, develops educational opportunities in rural environments through all four years of medical education, and creates partnerships with rural communities and organizations to address rural issues.   Dr. Blackburn currently serves as President of the Florida Coalition for School-Based Health Care and Junior Co-Chair of the National Rural Health Association Rural Medical Education Group.  She is a board member of the Florida Rural Health Association.  In May of 2012, Dr. Blackburn participated in the White House Rural Council Rural Stakeholders Meeting.

Keith Mueller, PhD

Dr. Mueller is a Professor in the Department of Health Services Research and Administration, University of Nebraska Medical College, and Director of the RUPRI Center for Rural Health Policy Analysis, and author of Health Care Policy in the United States. Dr. Mueller is a recipient of the NRHA Distinguished Researcher award; he has developed a preeminent research institute focusing on rural health policy and is a major figure in the analysis of rural health policy.